Some notes on don’t paint it all black

I normally wouldn’t have any notes about something I have written because it should stand on its own but in this case I feel like adding an explanation.

The inspiration for the poem was watching a documentary about the musician Nick Drake where the person talking said something like “When I learned that Nick had depression it completely changed the meaning of the songs”.

My reactions were

  1. IDIOT!
  2. It changes nothing.
  3. Not everything was created during depression or is about it. Most songs will be about other things why can’t you see that.

It spurred me on to write the poem.

You may have guessed Its also partly about my experiences because I have had depression to.

Leave a Reply

