L S Lowry an inspiration

I don’t take photos directly inspired by a painting but Lowry’s painting of the sea is an exception. Its not just any sea, Its the sea I use to visit as a child and its grey waters have become my idea of what a sea is like.

DSCF3212

Another photo I took reminds me of Lowry’s picture of a man lying on a wall. By chance I was passing and got a picture before he moved. This could be straight from a painting.

IM000161.JPG

Finally Lowry is famous for populating his paintings with matchstick men but if you look at the people at the bottom of the street in this photo they look like Lowry figures, a central blob of colour a lump for a head and matchstick arms and legs.

1372 Screen Grab

Leave a Reply

