The weather

The weather was calm.
The forecast was for sun in the afternoon.
A man dressed in an old suit sat down on the bench beside me.

He was fed up with the rain.
He was fed up with the wind.
He needed the sun.
He told me.

I can’t sit in that hoose.
All they want to do is watch the telly.
I need to get oot.
He told me.

He paused.

We used to bring the weans here when they were wee.

He paused.

Do you live here?
I told him I didn’t.
I was going to ask if you knew anybody with a gun.

He paused.

And one bullet.
He smiled.

He made a motion of zipping his lips.
I need to keep my mouth shut.
He laughed.

The sun came out.
We both commented on the heat, it was instant.
He took off his jacket

Time for a pint.
He said.
He walked off.

Leave a Reply

