The backpack of my past

I was listening to a program about the life and work of Meredith Monk and towards the end she came up with the wonderful phrase the backpack of my past which inspired me to write this.

In the backpack of my past I have found many things

some ancient images of treasured times
many half finished things
some unused ideas
a few regrets

some shining gems of happiness
black anthracite lumps of depression
some wonderful places
a few bleak locations

some shapes of long lost people
the shadows of half forgotten friends
some shapes of buildings no longer there
a few maps of streets long gone

some things learned and forgotten
many things learned and used
a lifetimes supply of experience
everything that makes up who I am

Leave a Reply

